About The Guy Who Openly Said “He’d Steal Me”

Yesterday at my friend’s hostel (I’m currently squatting with her), a male neighbor came looking for her but she wasn’t in. She was supposed to help him make stew. He pleaded I did it instead since she wasn’t in, initially I refused but he seemed positively distressed, so I caved. 

I made the stew, he was very pleased, so were his friends, and me feeling confident went with him to the market, got ingredients for banga soup, then came back and cooked banga soup, which by the way was fantastic (cooking banga soup is kind of my specialty and thankfully it didn’t pour this time). 

He’s a guy’s guy so he had guys over. In no time both the pot of stew and soup were almost finished, well who would blame them, it was an excellent dish. Before then, we had got talking and he told me about his girlfriend (ex), they had just recently broken up after 4 years of dating and he was hurt and heartbroken and lonely. I tried my best to sympathize. 

However, he started expressing his likeness for me (I wouldn’t blame him, it’s hard not to like me), but I told him straight up I had a boyfriend. I repeated the same thing when his friends assumed we had a thing together because I cooked for him, and I reminded him of it again right before I got up and walked out when he insisted I spent the night at his place. “I won’t touch you” he said, sounding righteous, “please oga, I’ve heard that song before” .

I felt he was a nice guy, cool in the least to say, until I heard his conversation with his friends. He said there’s a rule about relationships, it’s either you share with someone, or you steal from someone, and he wasn’t ready to share me so he’ll steal me. He was sounding pretty confident and I was sitting right there. This guy did not respect or acknowledge my relationship, which meant he indirectly did not respect me. He felt it wasn’t serious because it’s just 7 months, and my boyfriend couldn’t pay my rent for me or get me a new phone or completely change my wardrobe, so therefore, he could and would steal me for himself. I listened through all of the conversation. 

The next day (which is today), I told Babe a bit of it (the cooking part actually), and his reply was I should learn to be a smart girl. “You don’t go cooking for a guy, he’s going to think you’re offering yourself to be eaten just as well, and if you try to say no, he’ll read it as playing hard to get”. 

I don’t play hard to get. 

When I got back today, he came by the room and asked for my number. I said no and stood firm by it. He said we’ve done more, I’ve cooked for him and eaten at his place, so him having my phone number wasn’t a big deal. Then he snatched my phone from my fingers and made to type his number into it. 

I promptly snatched it back and told him straight up never to touch my phone again without my due consent. 

My face then would be saying

But the words that came out of my mouth were “We could have been friends but you have regards neither for me nor my relationship by openly boasting that you will steal me“, I started,” you’ve made your real intentions known and I am not interested, make no mistake, I will never be. I won’t give you my number and neither will I visit you in your room anymore because I certainly do not intend to lead you on falsely. There is no hope for you and I“. 
He just stood up and left and I made sure to bolt the door after him. He’s been carrying face for me in the hostel ever since. Who he epp? 

Word Prompt – Tenacious 

16 thoughts on “About The Guy Who Openly Said “He’d Steal Me”

  1. I cannot come and go and kill myself. Good riddance to bad rubbish. Men should learn to respect women especially when it comes to helping them out with chores. Just because I helped you out doesn’t mean I’m desperate to land on your laps. Sometimes we just want a dose of healthy friendship with no strings attached.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still don’t understand why most guys feel every friendly girl is willing to dance into their bedroom. Nevertheless, it’s been a lesson to me, guys will treat you the way you treat yourself. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Lilian, I’m always looking forward to your comments.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. The dude is bad news! He will also cheat on his babe with impunity. I’m also pretty sure he’s still in a relationship- or 2, but he wants to have a babe who can cook badass banga. Your boo is right, cooking for a guy is a big deal to most guys.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are so right. The very next evening, he asked my friend out and when she narrated it to me, turns out he asked her out using exactly the same lines he used on me. I just shook my head.

      Like

  3. You really make it appear so easy together with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be really something that I believe I would never understand. It kind of feels too complex and very extensive for me. I am looking forward for your subsequent publish, I’ll attempt to get the dangle of it!

    Like

  4. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

